YEA SHA !!

I had such an amazing weekend with friends, and family. The most important part of this weekend was that my husband was home, and getting to enjoy the activities with us as a family. His job can be very demanding at times, and is always a relief when he is able to relax with us during his down time. That is a whole ‘nother story in itself, and not my intentions for this post. Notice my southern slang, and terminology for another ? hehehe!!

My purpose is to share one of my families Cajun recipes. That’s right I’m full-blooded Cajun. Down here there is a name for us Cajun folk, coona$$es. In all honesty I can not tell you the real reason behind that name. Only that we were kicked out of nova scotia for being to friendly with the natives (Indians), and that is why most of the Cajun people have dark hair and skin. I for one do not have the dark skin just the dark hair.

I could go on, and on, and on about my families history, which is very interesting, and will certainly do so one day, but not today let me get to the recipe that I am sharing. crawfish etoufette, oh yea sha!

Now tho I am from Southeast, Tx., most of the culture there is Cajuns who migrated because the oil industry was booming in Port Arthur, Tx., and still is to this day. My families roots are from southwest,LA. and our gumbos, etoufettes, and fricassees’ differ from what you would find in areas closer to new Orleans.

That to is a whole ‘nother story that I will have to revisit some day. So lets not keep you waiting any longer. Here is my recipe for crawfish etoufette. bon appetit!

word press photo 1

Crawfish Etoufette

3 lbs crawfish tails                                   3 sticks of butter

1 1/2 cup celery, bell pepper, onion        4 cloves of garlic

1 tbsp flour                                                  1 cup of water

3 tbsp parsley flakes                             4 tbsp paprika

1 tsp salt and pepper                               1 tbsp onion powder

1 tsp Cajun seasonings

Melt the butter In a 10 inch skillet on medium high heat. when butter is melted add the onion, bell pepper, and celery. Saute’ for 5 minutes until soft. Then add the garlic, and saute’ until fragrant. Next you’re going to add the one tablespoon of flour, and let simmer for 3 min. After that you will add the one cup of water and simmer until thickened, and then add your  crawfish tails, and let cook for another 7 min. Once your crawfish are cooked through you are going to add your  seasonings, and the paprika should give it a reddish, orange, brown color. Like most Cajun dishes, this is best served over rice.

Leave a Reply

